The California Look, Classic Volkswagen Beetle, Bus, Ghia, Street and Racing

Navigation
News

May 25, 2012, 08:05:12 pm
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Paypal scam???  (Read 3367 times)
youngnstudly
Intermediate
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 381


« on: May 11, 2006, 01:19:04 am »

Hi guys,  I JUST got an email subjected Your payment has been sent to mailto:sales@plasmatvs.com and when opened, it looks just like a paypal invoice. It states that $495.85 has been sent to PLASMATVS for the purchase of a plasma tv. Of course I didn't buy a big plama TV. Is it me, or did I just read about this very scam on here Huh...or possibly the samba? Obviously if I had money for a plasma tv, I wouldn't be 5'10" weighing in at 126lbs  Grin (and my paypal account balance wouldn't be $3.89-which it is). As I recall from the scam I read about, the recipient of this email (who is outraged at this point...like me!) is probably responding...and the first thing the scam asks you to do is type in your personal info in order to log onto the PayPal site...And that's where the damage happens (right Huh).  Did anyone else have this happen to them??? Any suggestions before I erase it? Thanks for the help-Andy
Logged

-Andy
Mag00
Post-aholic
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 951


« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2006, 02:14:29 am »

You might try going DIRECTLY to the PP site and checking your info ... Don't use the one attched to the E/mail.. Good luck.Save the E/mail in case... 
Logged
Bruce Tweddle
Part of the woodwork
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3950



« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2006, 02:48:17 am »

The first thing is to never click on links within those e-mail messages.  If you do, look at the URL, it will not be Paypal's (or eBay's).  To check your PP acct, type the address in yourself.

Every message that does come from PP or eBay will greet you by your real name.  They do this because the scammers don't have this information.

If you want to report the scammer, go into your e-mail options and temporarily change the view to display the headers.  Headers are about 15-20 lines of 'puter junk that describes exactly where the message came from.  Then forward the message with those headers to PP at  spoof@paypal.com

Logged
martin
Part of the woodwork
*****
Online Online

Posts: 2048



« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2006, 08:20:26 am »

I had a similar scam email from someone masquerading as PayPal saying that a deal had gone thru and I had to click or whatever, and I forwarded the email to PayPal spoof (like Bruce said) and PayPal responded with an appreciative email thanking me for bring that to their attention.
Logged

68 White 2.3 efi turbo 194hp/240tq RWHP no boost!
Glenn
Part of the woodwork
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2175



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2006, 08:38:20 am »

I get scams like that all the time.

For the past 5 days i keep getting emails that say my Bank of America account has been locked and i need to follow a link to unlock it.

Funny thing is, I don't have any Bank of America accounts.

When i get emails like these I got to the REAL vendors site and find the CONTACTS page. They usually have an abuse or scam email address that you should foward the scam email to. There are headers and it is pososible to track them back to the source. If you don't let them know then these scammers will continue to send them.
Logged

J Dotson
Part of the woodwork
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3281



« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2006, 08:44:35 am »

Yeap..Same here..I get them and the Bank scammer stuff a lot also.They are just hopeing someone will click their link and let ya send them your account info to clean ya out.Got to be really careful and Think..Think..Think..All the time before opening anything. Wink
Logged

VWGLENN
Post-aholic
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 530



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2006, 10:11:40 am »

 Every Day these fools try to get your acess info to Clean you OUT, Chase Bank, Pay-Pal, eBay Confirm, B of A, send it back to ( Spoof@payPal.com ) ( Spoof@eBay.com ) etc. etc. sadly most are Off Shore Scammers and there is No way to do anything about it, Use the Header and Google it and it will be there, yup. another Scam or Fraudster thats working his Trade, there are many sites, Fraud Watch etc. etc. all on Google,  so just Google the Header, and check the Details, it's very clever how them make it LOOK REAL !  Bastards !
Logged
youngnstudly
Intermediate
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 381


« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2006, 11:48:49 am »

Thank you very much fellas! Bruce, I didn't open the link but I am sure my name ain't at the top (greeting me Cheesy)...The first thing I noticed when the Yahoo IM box poped up with the "new message" thing, was that the subject was ALLONEWORDLIKETHIS(ANDINCAPSTOO). Idiots! Thanks for the help, I am reporting this right now. Have a good day guys-and don't pay for any plasma TV's that you didn't buy!
Logged

-Andy
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: